Praying to the wishing tree

If I had but hazel eyes
I’d gaze with depth on thee
And if I lacked a hundred hours
Faithful would still I be.

In some new world, that I might have
Long and golden hair,
That I may lower to your aid
And bring you close, my dear.

If by some small trick of fate
Your intentions are misplaced
Then worry not for my strong love
Will find which steps to trace.

But if my love causes you grief,
And my caring brings you pain
Then tell me this all plain and clear,
I will leave you to your game.

And yes, it’s true that life is,
For if you play it well
Then death is bliss, but if you fail
Like me, then life is hell.

Leave a Reply

